Town of Sabattus



About Us

Sabattus is located in Androscoggin County only a few miles north of the busy twin cities of Lewiston and Auburn. It’s primarily a rural residential community and also host of several working farms, retail, excavation, and cottage industry businesses. The towns of Sabattus, Greene, and Wales all border the beautiful Sabattus Pond - a very popular residential and recreational destination area home to several fishing and winter recreation events. The Town of Sabattus was originally named the Town of Webster, incorporated on March 21st, 1788. Webster later split in March of 1840 into two separate town: the Town of Webster and Town of Lisbon. The Town of Webster was later renamed the Town of Sabattus on March 13, 1971. Sabattus is bordered by the municipalities of Lisbon, Bowdoin, Wales, Litchfield, Greene, and Lewiston. Our local government, per state law and town charter, consists of a five-member Board of Selectmen elected by the residents. The five elected Selectmen establish operational policies for the workings of local government and appoint a Town Manager to run the daily operations. Residents make the major budget and land-use decisions at Town Meeting held in June each year. The Town’s fiscal year runs from July 1 to June 30.


Rep/Contact Info

Anthony Ward
Town Manager